Saturday, December 07, 2019

Posted at: May 23, 2019, 9:14 AM; last updated: May 24, 2019, 7:15 AM (IST)

BJP's Kirron Kher retains Chandigarh seat by over 46,000 votes

Tribune News Service
Chandigarh, May 23

BJP candidate and sitting MP Kirron Kher retained the Chandigarh Lok Sabha seat by a margin of 46,970 votes on Thursday.

She polled 2,30,967 votes while her nearest rival and Congress nominee Pawan Kumar Bansal got 1,84,218 votes.

AAP candidate Harmohan Dhawan got only 13,781 votes while NOTA’s share was 4335.

Earlier today, disappointed over the counting trends for Chandigarh, Dhawan refused to meet visitors.

The gates of his house, which were open for visitors till Wednesday, were closed and only select people were allowed to enter. Dhawan also refused to meet journalists.

In the 2014 Lok Sabha polls, Kher had won the Chandigarh seat by defeating Bansal with a margin of 69,642 votes.

The voter turnout on May 19 in the Union Territory of Chandigarh was 70.62 per cent.


All readers are invited to post comments responsibly. Any messages with foul language or inciting hatred will be deleted. Comments with all capital letters will also be deleted. Readers are encouraged to flag the comments they feel are inappropriate.
The views expressed in the Comments section are of the individuals writing the post. The Tribune does not endorse or support the views in these posts in any manner.
Share On