Tuesday, December 10, 2019

Posted at: Jun 9, 2019, 7:21 AM; last updated: Jun 9, 2019, 7:21 AM (IST)

Jayant, Vanisha clinch gold

Claim top position in U-14 breaststroke for boys and girls category; Ramrinder also shines

Tribune News Service

Chandigarh, June 8

Jayant Punj claimed the 50m breaststroke gold in the boys’ U-14 category on the opening day of the Chandigarh Open Invitational Swimming Meet at the Sector 23 All-Weather Swimming Pool today. Punj claimed the top position in 35.10 seconds. Dhruv Gupta claimed the silver medal in 36.35s, while Anjan Sharma claimed the bronze in 38.24s.

In the girls’ event, Vanisha Bashambu (37.97s), Tista Tewani (40.82s) and Sanchi Bhargava (41.26s) claimed first three positions.

Ramrinder Singh clocked 38.82s to claim boys’ U-12 50m breaststroke gold. He was followed by Samardeep Singh (44.94s) at second position and Daksh (45.52s) at third. In the girls’ event, Arshpreet Kaur (38.46s), Shubhnoor Kaur Vaid (47.30s) and Harshleen Kaur (48.71s) claimed the top three podium positions.

In the boys’ U-19 50m breaststroke event, Randeep won the top honours by clocking 46.25s. Sumit Rajain finished second in 48.62s and Jujhar Singh Gill claimed the third position in 52.82s. Rehat Baath (49.08s) claimed the gold in the girls’ event, followed by Apurava Sharma (49.34s) and Ojus Walia (51.05s).

Gurnoor Kaur of Jalandhar clocked 33.33s to win the girls’ U-17 50m butterfly stroke event. The silver went to a contender also named Gurnoor Kaur, of Chandigarh, who clocked 34.72s, while Leeza Phogat finished third in 36.03s.

Anjan Sharma won the boys’ U-14 50m butterfly event by clocking 30.64s. Yatharth Rawat (32.40s) and Shivansh Bhatia (32.79) were the other two medal-winners.

Jasnoor Kaur (30.31s), Varnika Bashambu (32.40s) and Vanisha Bashambu (33.22s) claimed the top three positions in the girls’ 50m butterfly event.   

Trinabh Sharma won the boys’ U-9 25m breaststroke gold with a timing of 31.91s. Rajveer Singh (33.07s) finished second and Arnav Joura (33.25s) claimed the third spot. In the girls’ category, Pawani Bhatia (32.78s), Kiratjot Kaur (42.24s) and Ryanpreet Kaur (50.35s) won the top three positions.        

Chahat Arora won the girls’ senior 50m breaststroke event by clocking 33.66s. Nishita (41.75s) claimed the second position, followed by Sudrishti (47.16s) at third. 

In the boys’ U-17 50m breaststroke event, Harsimar (33.51s), Updesh Singh (34.03s) and Suryansh Sharma (34.16s) claimed the top three positions. In the girls’ 50m breaststroke event, Disha Thakur (38.79s), Gurnoor Kaur (38.90s) and Gurnoor Kaur (40.56s) won the top three positions. In the boys’ U-17 (100m) backstroke event, Dhruv Attri (1m 04.88s), Bhavya Thakur (1:06.29s) and Aryan Saxena (1:09.74s) claimed the top spots.



All readers are invited to post comments responsibly. Any messages with foul language or inciting hatred will be deleted. Comments with all capital letters will also be deleted. Readers are encouraged to flag the comments they feel are inappropriate.
The views expressed in the Comments section are of the individuals writing the post. The Tribune does not endorse or support the views in these posts in any manner.
Share On