Monday, March 25, 2019
Chandigarh » Governance

Posted at: Aug 28, 2015, 8:27 PM; last updated: Aug 28, 2015, 8:27 PM (IST)

Kulwant Singh is Mohali’s first Mayor

Tribune News Service
Mohali, August 28

JLPL MD and Azad Group head Kulwant Singh has been elected as the first Mayor of Mohali. The former SAD leader was elected on Friday after Akali-BJP councillors boycotted the election.

Congress councillor Rishabh Jain was elected senior Deputy Mayor and Independent councillor Manjit Singh Sethi Deputy Mayor.

A total of 27 votes were polled in Kulwant’s favour, which is one more than the required number 26. 

Ten candidates from Azad group, two Independents, 15 Congress councillors, including a Congress MLA, voted for Kulwant.

Of the total 49 councillors, 23 are from the SAD-BJP combine (17 SAD and six BJP), 14 from the Congress, 10 from the Azad Group and two Independents.

Town residents had elected 50 councillors on February 22, but with the death of Azad group’s woman councillor Amteshwar Kaur on April 3, the number of councillors was reduced to 49.



All readers are invited to post comments responsibly. Any messages with foul language or inciting hatred will be deleted. Comments with all capital letters will also be deleted. Readers are encouraged to flag the comments they feel are inappropriate.
The views expressed in the Comments section are of the individuals writing the post. The Tribune does not endorse or support the views in these posts in any manner.
Share On