Saturday, May 25, 2019

Posted at: Apr 2, 2017, 8:42 PM; last updated: Apr 2, 2017, 8:46 PM (IST)

BJP announces tickets for MCD polls, all new faces including 4 Muslims

BJP announces tickets for MCD polls, all new faces including 4 Muslims
BJP Delhi vice president Rajiv Babbar trying to convince party workers from Tilak Nagar constituency protesting against the party’s decision to give MCD seats to Akali Dal in New Delhi on Sunday. PTI

Tribune News Service

New Delhi, April 2

Ahead of the last day of filing nominations for the MCD polls to be held on April 23 the BJP released its first list of 160 candidates.

It decided to give five seats to the Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) and one to Lok Janshakti Party.                       

 The SAD declared the names after a meeting convened by party president Sukhbir Singh Badal at his residence.                       

The BJP will release its second list late in the night while the Congress, which released its first list of 140 candidates late last night, is also currently holding a meeting here to release the remaining names.

The ruling BJP, which has decided not to field its sitting councillors in the elections, has brought in new faces including four Muslim candidates.

There are a total of 272 wards in the three municipal corporations in the city, including 104 each in South and North Delhi municipal corporations and 64 in the East Delhi municipal corporation.

The last date of filing nomination is tomorrow, said a senior BJP official.

In the first list, the BJP has announced names of 58, 35 and 67 candidates for South Delhi, East Delhi and North Delhi municipal corporations respectively.

The list mentions four muslim candidates—Kuwar Rafi from Zakir Nagar (SDMC), Sartaj Ahmed from Chauhan Banger and Sabra Malik from Mustafabad (EDMC) and Famudin Safi from Delhi Gate (NDMC).

The BJP has also fielded Kamaljeet Sehrawat, who was the former president of Delhi BJP Mahila Morcha, from Dwarka-B.

“Delhi BJP chief Manoj Tiwari has announced the first list of candidates for MCD elections.

“Candidates of Akali Dal and Lok Janshakti Party will contest elections in five seats and one seat respectively on BJP’s symbol,” the official said. — With PTI inputs


All readers are invited to post comments responsibly. Any messages with foul language or inciting hatred will be deleted. Comments with all capital letters will also be deleted. Readers are encouraged to flag the comments they feel are inappropriate.
The views expressed in the Comments section are of the individuals writing the post. The Tribune does not endorse or support the views in these posts in any manner.
Share On