Friday, November 15, 2019

Posted at: May 21, 2019, 8:02 PM; last updated: May 21, 2019, 8:02 PM (IST)

Votes for 13 LS seats to be counted at 21 locations: Punjab CEO

Votes for 13 LS seats to be counted at 21 locations: Punjab CEO
A Punjab Police personnel stands guard as election officials carry Electronic Voting Machines (EVM) and Voter-Verified Paper Audit Trail (VVPAT) leaving a distribution centre in Amritsar on May 18, 2019. AFP photo

Chandigarh, May 21

Votes for Punjab’s 13 parliamentary seats will be counted at 21 locations in the state on May 23, Chief Electoral Officer S Karuna Raju said on Tuesday.

"The counting of votes will be held at 21 different locations in Punjab for 13 parliamentary constituencies. The counting process will begin on May 23 at 8 am," Raju said.

Punjab had recorded a voter turnout of 65.96 per cent on Sunday for the 13 parliamentary seats, almost 5 per cent lower than the turnout in the 2014 general elections.

Of the total 2.07 crore electors, 1.37 crore have sealed the fate of 278 candidates in Punjab.

Barring stray incidents of clashes on Sunday, polling in Punjab remained peaceful.

SAD chief Sukhbir Singh Badal, Bollywood actor Sunny Deol and two union minister Harsimrat Kaur Badal and Hardeep Puri and Congress heavyweights Manish Tewari and Preneet Kaur were among the prominent faces in the fray. PTI


All readers are invited to post comments responsibly. Any messages with foul language or inciting hatred will be deleted. Comments with all capital letters will also be deleted. Readers are encouraged to flag the comments they feel are inappropriate.
The views expressed in the Comments section are of the individuals writing the post. The Tribune does not endorse or support the views in these posts in any manner.
Share On