Sunday, October 20, 2019

Posted at: May 12, 2019, 7:10 AM; last updated: May 12, 2019, 7:10 AM (IST)

Dhanya stuns Ashish on Day 1

Dhanya stuns Ashish on Day 1
Gaurav Kumar returns a backhand to Dhruv Agarwal during their qualifying match in the CLTA-AITA Super Series Tournament in Chandigarh on Saturday. Gaurav won 9-3. Photo: Pradeep Tewari

Tribune News Service
Chandigarh, May 11 

Gujarat’s Dhanya K Shah dumped top seed Ashish Bawra of Haryana in the boys’ U-18 qualifiers on the opening day of the CLTA-AITA Super Series Tennis Tournament here on Saturday. Shah won 9-1.

Manveer Singh of Punjab stunned fourth seed Rohan Mittal of Haryana 9-4, while Jasmeet Duhan upset sixth seed Vansh Yadav of Uttar Pradesh 9-5. 

Punjab’s Samar Bir Singh Sidhu overcame state-mate and seventh seed Siddharth Ravidu Jadli, while Delhi’s Tushar Madan got the better of eighth seed Siddharth Malik. Second seed Ashwin Mudar Bhat pipped Punjab’s Aarav Singh Gill 9-7.

Third seed Siddharth Basaiti of Haryana beat Rajat Punia 9-7 and fifth seed Aditya Nandal got past Punjab’s Sukhpreet Singh Jhoje. Nandal won 9-8(7). 

Ajay advances

In the boys’ U-16 category, top seed Ajay Singh of Haryana drubbed Punjab’s Manjot Singh 9-0. 

Second seed Aryan Thakur blanked Sabyasachi Pruthi, while third seed Himanshu Sharma of Haryana registered a 9-3 win over Punjab’s Tarun Sharma. Fourth seed Abay Yuvraj Singh of Haryana edged out Yashvardhan Gaur 9-1. 

Fifth seed Sukhraj Singh of Punjab humbled Haryana’s Rijul Bhatia 9-2. Uttar Pradesh’s Hardik Choudhary stunned sixth seed Rishi Dahiya of Punjab 9-8(2), while seventh seed Lakshay Batra dismissed Punjab’s Aarush Sharma 9-0. 

Eighth seed Gurnoor Singh Kular of Punjab overcame Chandigarh’s Mahismat Kumar 9-8(2), while 10th seed Gaurav Kumar registered a 9-3 win over Punjab’s Dhruv Agarwal.

Shreya outplays Leera

Shreya Chakraborty of West Bengal downed Delhi’s Leera Raju 9-1 in the opening match of the girls’ U-18 qualifiers.

Meher Mishra of Uttar Pradesh beat Haryana’s Princy Panchal 9-4, while Punjab’s Simran Pritam defeated Ilina Jha of Delhi 9-5. Chandigarh’s Radhika Vasudeva overcame Telangana’s Renee Sharma 9-7.

Konika Singh Dhull, also from Chandigarh, prevailed 9-8(4) over Punjab’s Pawandeep Kaur. Ashpreet Kaur Bajwa of Punjab blanked Haryana’s Priyanka Jakhar 9-0 and Sweta Samanta of West Bengal humbled Punjab’s Jaskirat Kaur 9-4.


All readers are invited to post comments responsibly. Any messages with foul language or inciting hatred will be deleted. Comments with all capital letters will also be deleted. Readers are encouraged to flag the comments they feel are inappropriate.
The views expressed in the Comments section are of the individuals writing the post. The Tribune does not endorse or support the views in these posts in any manner.
Share On