Tuesday, March 26, 2019
Uttarakhand » Community

Posted at: Oct 6, 2015, 1:00 AM; last updated: Oct 5, 2015, 11:06 PM (IST)

BJP MLAs protest outside Harish Rawat’s residence

Congress hits back

  • Surendra Kumar, media in-charge of Chief Minister Harish Rawat, on Monday alleged that the BJP had been protecting its MLAs and leaders involved in criminal cases.
  • Reacting to a dharna by BJP MLAs and leaders outside the CM’s residence, he alleged that BJP leaders were protecting land and mining mafias in the state.
  • He showed a list of criminal cases pending against BJP leaders.
  • Kumar said a BJP leader was in Tihar jail for his alleged involvement in the murder of a member of liquor mafia while another leader had been jailed for “raping” a Dalit woman in Dehradun. — TNS
BJP MLAs protest outside Harish Rawat’s residence
BJP MLAs jostle with the police during their protest in front of Chief Minister Harish Rawat’s residence in Dehradun on Monday. Tribune photo: Abhyudaya Kotnala

Tribune News Service

Dehradun, October 5

Protesting against the Congress government’s alleged oppressive campaign launched against BJP MLAs, the Uttarakhand BJP MLAs held a sit-in outside the residence of Chief Minister Harish Rawat here today.

Led by state BJP chief Teerath Singh Rawat and Ajay Bhatt, leader of the Opposition in the Uttarakhand Assembly, the state BJP MLAs and office-bearers took out a march from the BJP headquarter. On reaching the Cantonment road, some of the MLAs managed to break the barricade and the police cordon and reached the residence of Chief Minister, sat on a dharna and raised slogans against the Congress party and the Chief Minister. The MLAs included Rajesh Shukla (Kichha), Swami Yatiswaranand (Haridwar, rural), Daleep Singh Rawat (Lansdowne), Adesh Chauhan (Ranipur) and others. Later, the police bundled up the MLAs in the police van and whisked them away to the Police Lines.

Earlier, a minor altercation ensued between the police personnel and BJP leaders at the police barricade erected on the Cantonment road. The police party managed to stop BJP chief Teerath Singh Rawat and Ajay Bhatt where both leaders lashed out at the Congress government for unleashing a reign of terror against BJP MLAs. “We will be forced to break the CMs residence gate, in case the police try to forcibly evict the MLAs from the gate,” said Teerath Singh Rawat.

On the other hand, Ajay Bhatt accused the Chief Minister of trying to put the BJP MLAs behind bars by allegedly asking the police to register false cases against them.

Meanwhile, commuters had to undergo inconvenience as they were stopped at several points leading to traffic jam at many places.

BJP MLAs Vijaya Barthwal, Arvind Pandey, Prem Agarwal, Bhim Lal Arya and Malchand did not participate in the dharna.


All readers are invited to post comments responsibly. Any messages with foul language or inciting hatred will be deleted. Comments with all capital letters will also be deleted. Readers are encouraged to flag the comments they feel are inappropriate.
The views expressed in the Comments section are of the individuals writing the post. The Tribune does not endorse or support the views in these posts in any manner.
Share On