Tuesday, October 15, 2019

Posted at: May 20, 2019, 7:37 AM; last updated: May 20, 2019, 7:37 AM (IST)

Landslide victory for BJP predicted

Most exit polls give 7 or more seats to saffron party, some see a couple for Congress
Landslide victory for BJP predicted
The Prime Minister with CM Manohar Lal Khattar at a rally in Kurukshetra. Tribune file photo

Sushil Manav

Tribune News Service

Chandigarh, May 19

As polling for the last and seventh phase of the Lok Sabha elections ended on Sunday, the exit polls by various agencies are giving the BJP-led NDA from 8 to all 10 seats in Haryana.

Not only the exit polls, Satta Bazaar also gave the BJP eight or more seats in the state.

Reacting to the exit poll results, BJP state president Subhash Barala exuded confidence and said the party would win all 10 seats, while former Chief Minister Bhupinder Singh Hooda of the Congress dismissed the seat count as unreliable.

“The BJP-led National Democratic Alliance is expected to win nine of Haryana’s 10 Lok Sabha seats,” said the IANS-CVOTER exit poll released on Sunday. In 2014, the BJP had won seven seats in Haryana, Indian National Lok Dal (INLD) had won two seats and the Congress had won the lone Rohtak seat.

According to the IANS-CVOTER exit poll, the NDA is predicted to win nine of the 10 parliamentary constituencies in Haryana. The United Progressive Alliance is projected to win one seat in 2019 — the same number as in 2014. The INLD is expected to lose both Sirsa and Hisar Lok Sabha seats.

The exit poll shows that the NDA is having a greater share of 45.4 per cent seats, while it is 26.8 per cent for the UPA and 8.7 per cent for the INLD.

Similarly, the India Today-Axis exit poll has given the BJP 8-10 seats in Haryana, while it has given the Congress 0 to 2 seats.

The Times Now-VMR exit poll has given the BJP eight seats and the Congress two seats.

The ABP exit poll has given the BJP seven seats and the Congress three seats.

Satta Bazaar, which is considered more accurate because of the high stakes involved, has also given the BJP eight or nine seats in Haryana and one or two seats to the Congress.

Punters have no doubt that the Ambala, Karnal, Kurukshetra, Faridabad, Gurugram, Bhiwani-Mahendragarh, Hisar and Sirsa seats will go to the BJP.

The punters are considering the Rohtak and Sonepat seats to the Congress, but maintain that the real picture on the two seats is likely to emerge by Monday.

Former Chief Minister Bhupinder Singh Hooda brushed aside the exit polls and said the results of no two polls matched. “Wait till May 23 as the results of the exit polls have often failed in the past,” said Hooda.

State BJP president Subhash Barala, however, said he had no doubt that his party would get all 10 seats in the state. “Our party’s survey is not based on hearsay, but on the basis of reports from the ground. We are winning all 10 seats, including Rohtak and Sonepat.”

Seats out of 10 

Satta Bazaar  
BJP 8 or more 


India Today-Axis
BJP 8 or more 

Times Now-VMR
BJP 8, Cong 2 

BJP 7, Cong 3

Our party’s survey is not based on hearsay, but on the basis of reports from the ground. We are winning all 10 seats, including Rohtak and Sonepat.— Subhash Barala, state BJP President 


All readers are invited to post comments responsibly. Any messages with foul language or inciting hatred will be deleted. Comments with all capital letters will also be deleted. Readers are encouraged to flag the comments they feel are inappropriate.
The views expressed in the Comments section are of the individuals writing the post. The Tribune does not endorse or support the views in these posts in any manner.
Share On