Kohli’s experiment backfires

BENGALURU:India captain Virat Kohli’s bold move to bat first boomeranged as Quinton de Kock (79*) spearheaded South Africa’s chase for a series-levelling nine-wicket win in the third T20I.

Kohli’s experiment backfires

South Africa captain Quinton de Kock hit an unbeaten 79 during the third T20I in Bengaluru on Sunday. AFP


bengaluru, september 22

India captain Virat Kohli’s bold move to bat first boomeranged as Quinton de Kock (79*) spearheaded South Africa’s chase for a series-levelling nine-wicket win in the third T20I. 

Kohli opted to bat after winning the toss on a flat track, known to favour teams chasing in the shortest format. Initially, though, the decision seemed to have worked as India raced to 54/1 in six overs at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium. 

The departure of Shikhar Dhawan gave the South Africans an opening, and they grabbed it with both hands, snuffing out eight wickets for just 71 runs.

Complete control 

In their chase, South Africa captain de Kock looked in complete control as he struck six fours and five sixes in his unbeaten knock of 79 runs. He added 76 runs for the first wicket with Reeza Hendricks in 10 overs and then put on another 64 with Temba Bavuma. In the fourth over, de Kock cut loose by hitting Navdeep Saini for two sixes, and there was no looking back.

Earlier, India were stopped at 134/9 by a disciplined South African attack. Top-scorer Dhawan blazed away to a 25-ball 36 and got India off to a brisk start that yielded 54 runs in the first six overs. Kagiso Rabada was expensive but picked up three wickets, while there were two apiece for Bjorn Fortuin (2/19) and Beuran Hendricks (2/14).

Playing in his first game of the series, Beuran Hendricks was the team’s best bowler as he choked run flow in the middle overs along with left-arm spinner Fortuin. 

Rohit Sharma got out early but he did put pace spearhead Kagiso Rabada under pressure straightaway, striking him for two boundaries in his first over — one over cover and the other through extra cover. Rohit's dismissal brought crowd favourite Kohli in the middle but Dhawan, who began the innings with a boundary, was in charge and welcomed leg-spinner Tabraiz Shamsi with back-to-back sixes. Going for one too many, Dhawan mistimed Shamsi, who had his revenge after Temba Bavuma completed a neat catch. 

Kohli followed suit as Andile Phehlukwayo pulled off a fine running catch in the deep, much to the relief of Rabada. — PTI

Dhoni unavailable for selection until November 

New Delhi: MS Dhoni will not be not available for selection until November this year, according to reports. The former India captain had previously missed the West Indies tour after taking a break of two months which also meant that he missed the ongoing home series against South Africa. The extension of the break means that he will miss out on the Vijay Hazare Trophy and the home T20I series against Bangladesh as well. Dhoni would be available to play for India only in December when the West Indies tour the country for three T20Is and as many ODIs. The series is scheduled to start on December 6.  — IANS


Runs Balls 4s 6s

S Dhawan c Bavuma b Shamsi 36 25 4 2

R Sharma c R Hendricks b B Hendricks 9 8 2 0

V Kohli c Phehlukwayo b Rabada 9 15 0 0

R Pant c Phehlukwayo b Fortuin 19 20 1 1

S Iyer st de Kock b Fortuin 5 8 0 0

H Pandya c Miller b Rabada 14 18 1 0

K Pandya c de Kock b B Hendricks 4 7 0 0

R Jadeja c&b Rabada 19 17 1 1

W Sundar run out 4 1 1 0

D Chahar not out 0 0 0 0

N Saini not out 0 1 0 0

Extras: (b-1, lb-2, w-12) 15 

Total: (9 wickets; 20 overs) 134

FOW: 1-22, 2-63, 3-68, 4-90, 5-92, 6-98, 7-127, 8-133, 9-133     

Bowling O M R W

Bjorn Fortuin 3 0 19 2

Kagiso Rabada 4 0 39 3

Beuran Hendricks 4 0 14 2

Andile Phehlukwayo 4 0 28 0

Tabraiz Shamsi 4 0 23 1

Dwaine Pretorius 1 0 8 0


Runs Balls 4s 6s

R Hendricks c Kohli b H Pandya 28 26 4 0

Q de Kock not out 79 52 6 5

T Bavuma not out 27 23 2 1

Extras: (LB-2, W-4) 6

Total: (1 wicket; 16.5 overs) 140

FOW: 1-76    

Bowling O M R W

Washington Sundar 4 0 27 0

Deepak Chahar 3 0 15 0

Navdeep Saini 2 0 25 0

Krunal Pandya 3.5 0 40 0

Hardik Pandya 2 0 23 1

Ravindra Jadeja 2 0 8 0

Player of the Match: Beuran Hendricks