Monday, November 18, 2019

Posted at: Sep 18, 2019, 7:20 AM; last updated: Sep 18, 2019, 10:07 AM (IST)

Setback to Maya as all six BSP MLAs join Cong in Rajasthan

Setback to Maya as all six BSP  MLAs join Cong in Rajasthan
The BSP MLAs submitting the letter to Speaker CP Joshi.

Our Correspondent

Jaipur, September 17

In a setback to the BSP, all its six legislators in Rajasthan joined the ruling Congress on Monday night, providing much needed respite to the Ashok Gehlot government that was fearing poaching of the MLAs by Opposition BJP.

Rajendra Gudha, Joginder Awana, Lakhan Singh, Deechand Kheria, Sandeep Yadav and Wajib Ali met Chief Minister Gehlot at 9.30 pm before visiting Speaker CP Joshi’s house, where they handed him a letter to this effect. 

“I have received a letter by the six BSP MLAs joining the Congress. This letter is sufficient and there will be no legal hurdle in it,” Joshi said. 

In 2009, a similar number of BSP MLAs had joined the Congress. The Congress tally in a House of 200 (two seats vacant) is now 106; BJP has 72 MLAs, Independents 13, BTP, CPM and RLP two each and RLD has one member.

The development is expected to boost Congress’ chances in coming civic body and panchayati raj polls. 

Denying it was “horse-trading”, Chief Minister Gehlot said the MLAs joined the Congress to ensure development in their constituencies.

Breach of trust

Cong has proved it’s unreliable. This is breach of trust even when BSP had offered unconditional support. Instead of fighting arch-rivals, Cong always harms parties that help it. — Mayawati, BSP chief


All readers are invited to post comments responsibly. Any messages with foul language or inciting hatred will be deleted. Comments with all capital letters will also be deleted. Readers are encouraged to flag the comments they feel are inappropriate.
The views expressed in the Comments section are of the individuals writing the post. The Tribune does not endorse or support the views in these posts in any manner.
Share On